Finalists announced for in-cosmetics Lifetime Achievement Award


The award will be presented at in-cosmetics in Paris on 16 April

The organisers of in-cosmetics 2013 have announced the three finalists for its Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognises the accomplishments of individuals who have made a significant impact on the cosmetic and personal care industry. Dene Godfrey, Karl Lintner and Klaus Stanzl will battle it out in the public vote to win the top prize.

Dene Godfrey has 32 years’ experience in the cosmetics industry. He currently works at Azelis where he is responsible for both the technical and commercial aspects of preservation systems. Recognised for his work in the field of preservatives and consumer education, he is an active member of the UK Society of Cosmetic Scientists (SCS) and was President in 2009/2010. He has also contributed to many industry publications and had letters published in peer-reviewed scientific journals.

Prior to working at Azelis, Godfrey held a number of key roles at companies such as The Boots Company and Nipa Laboratories. In 2002 he founded MGS MicroPure and established the Paratexin brand name in the UK and several other markets.

Dr Karl Lintner holds a PhD in biochemistry and is well known in the industry for his contribution to work on skin biochemistry. After ten years researching biological peptides at the Nuclear Research Centre in Saclay, France, he moved on to positions at leading companies including Henkel and Sederma, where he was CEO for ten years.

During his career Lintner has filed several dozen patents, published numerous articles and book chapters on cosmetic ingredients and is an active member of the Society of Cosmetic Chemists and the the Société Française de Cosmétologie. He is currently an independent consultant and president of KAL’idées, as well as Editor-in-Chief of the International Journal of Cosmetic Science. He received the SCC’s Maison de Navarre Medal Award in 2012.

Dr Klaus Stanzl has played an integral part in the research and development of pioneering cosmetic innovations. After obtaining his PhD in chemistry, he started his career in quality management and later became Vice President at Lancaster where he worked on a number of launches including the patented Skin Therapy technology.

In 2004 he became CEO and President at Symrise USA and worked on a range of projects including developing an alternative method to animal testing. He is a member of the German Society of Cosmetic Chemists and is co-owner of more than 30 patents. He has also been published in over 50 scientific publications worldwide.

Lucy Gillam, Event Director for in-cosmetics, said: “I’d like to give a big congratulations to all our finalists. Everyone who has been nominated deserves recognition within the industry, and we look forward to the awards ceremony in Paris when the winner will be revealed.”

Sign up for your free email newsletter

The winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award will be officially announced at in-cosmetics 2013 in Paris on 16 April. The deadline for voting for the nominees (at is 1 April.